The Museum of Modern Art Dubrovnik was founded in 1945.The building now occupied by the Museum of Modern Art Dubrovnik was originally conceived and built (1935-1939) as the showcase residential mansion of Dubrovnik ship owner Božo Banac, and in 1948 it was converted into exhibition premises and museum.
It was designed by the well-known Croatian architects Lavoslav Horvat and Harold Bilinić in the neo-Renaissance-cum-Gothic style, along the lines of masterpieces of Dubrovnik urban and villa Renaissance architecture (the Rector’s Palace, the Divona/Sponza, the Sorkočević Villa and so on).
Through the conversion works, nine exhibition rooms were created, along with two store rooms and some smaller working areas. Together with the large terraces looking on to the sea and its garden, the Museum has 900 square metres of indoor and over 1100 square metres of outdoor exhibition space.
By the decision of The City of Dubrovnik, The Museum of Modern Art has obtained the use of Gallery Dulčić Masle Pulitika at Držićeva poljana 1, Dubrovnik and in 2008 it has obtained the use of Studio Pulitika, Fortress of St. John, Dubrovnik.